Skip to content
November 27, 2011 / natihell

Oh happy day, my ID has been unblocked.

Hey there everyone! Long time no see.

Well, here’s how it is: for an excruciatingly long time I wasn’t able to visit Sea of Shoes from my place, I guessed they blocked my ID or something. Maybe mom didn’t want darling Jane to be upset and buy a pair of Converse or something.

"You're not the daughter I raised. You're breaking my vintage heart."

Of course, I fell into a deep and hopeless depression, for I had been vanished from the one site that made me laugh no matter what.

However, some weeks ago I was dicking around the Internet and I remembered Sea of Shoes. With little hopes, I typed the forbidden URL and pressed enter. Imagine my surprise when I saw a little red-headed someone staring back at me with her little brown eyes, framed by a bunch of clumped lashes, sticking together under the coats of mascara. Be still, my beating heart.

So, today I decided to check it out again, you know, for old times sake and here’s what I saw:

D to the E to the R to the P

“I can never seem to turn down whimsical things with a sense of humor…especially if there are animals involved. The weirder, the better. This 80’s Krizia sweater featuring a grizzly bear wearing his finest pearls is right up my alley. My mom found this at an amazing sale at Salvation army (…). The vintage gods must have been smiling down on her that day.”

 

Well well well, someone has special snowflake syndrome!

Oh Jane… Why? Stop… just stop. You’re getting too old for this shit. Seriously, go to college. Discover a new hobby. Read a book or watch a movie without getting all snobby about it.

Rapper-bear sweater is not whimsical…unless whimsical is douche for stupid, in which case it is whimsical.

Oh, and by the way, babe, no god was smiling at your mom that day.

Love,

Nati Hell.

PS: I don’t own that picture. Who cares, it’s on google anyway. 

29 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. glenn / Nov 27 2011 8:21 am

    yey! your back!

  2. Stephielein / Nov 27 2011 10:45 am

    welcome back!

  3. person / Nov 27 2011 6:21 pm

    YES YOUR FINALLY BACK <33333333333

  4. ina / Nov 27 2011 9:27 pm

    I’ve missed your posts!!! Welcome back. 🙂

  5. anne / Nov 28 2011 2:31 am

    yay you’re back!
    you should also see jane’s ‘about’ seaofshoes. just an fyi..

  6. Víctor R. / Nov 28 2011 3:00 pm

    I’m glad you’re back, you scary writer 🙂

  7. Ruby Book / Nov 29 2011 2:27 am

    Wow, you are very persuasive. Couldn’t think of a better reason as to what’s wrong with the picture/blog/person than captioning the image with “DERP”? Or maybe calling her stupid and snobby?

    Hey, why don’t you read this before you delete me: just because someone isn’t an uncreative zombie, doesn’t mean they are a snob. Did it ever occur to you that maybe people DO dress “like that”? That maybe they are expressing themselves in an art form known as fashion? Was Alexander McQueen a snob for being a genius? Was Einstein a snob? No. It is indeed possible to be posses talent without being snobby. Are you jealous or just uninformed about fashion bloggers?

    Besides, don’t you say that you don’t claim to know anything about fashion?

    You’re acting childish and making inane, pointless comments that don’t prove any point at all. Way to spend your time.

    • natihell / Nov 29 2011 4:06 am

      Ok, first of all, why would I delete you?

      Second, I wasn’t calling Jane a snob because of her “fashion sense”, please pay attention to what you’re reading, don’t be lazy. I was calling her a snob because she acts like she deserves an award for knowing the name some obscure Japanese film, or talking about David Lynch like she’s the only one in the world that has ever seen his movies. Dammit… READ.

      Third…….. Einstein, really? REALLY? ARE YOU FUCKING SERIOUS?! EINSTEIN?! What’s wrong with you? What are you talking about? Why are you comparing a some random rich girl to Albert fucking Einstein? Are you seriously inferring that this girl is a motherfucking genius because she wears clothes!?

      You’re acting childish, making stupid, pointless comments that don’t prove any point at all. Have fun replying to this.

      • Ruby Book / Nov 29 2011 10:07 pm

        First of all, I apologize for assuming you would delete me. WordPress makes the blogger moderate comments and many people don’t approve contradictory comments.

        Second, all I was saying is that perhaps she DOES know about obscure Japanese films, and that doesn’t make her a snob. As far as I can tell from your post, she never discusses them condescendingly. Even if she did, it doesn’t make you much better to bash her. The only quote you gave from her was of her loving a sweater. That’s what I mean by “not proving any point at all”. Captioning the photo with “DERP” doesn’t explain why she’s such a stupid douche.

        Thirdly, regarding the Einstein analogy; I never called her a genius. I don’t know if she’s a genius or an idiot, and neither do you or anyone else who does not even know her. My point was that it makes no sense to call someone a snob because they are knowledgeable about things.

        I probably wouldn’t care about this as much if you hadn’t been talking about how you “hated” people because they had ugly hair, etc, and making personal attacks towards fashion bloggers, many of them which I admire and enjoy reading. I think you should stand back and look at your own blog before calling people out for acting superior. And if you’re going to, at least have a good reason.

  8. person / Nov 29 2011 11:42 pm

    All Jane does is buy expensive shit. All she wears is either designer or vintage.
    All fashion bloggers do is either wear something stupidly simple, like a sweater with demin shorts, paired with 5 inch Prada heels, or something ugly and ridiculous.
    Honestly, what the fuck is up with people? Dressing weird or outrageous isn’t even original anymore. Just because you paired up something that normally wouldn’t look good, it doesn’t mean your some kind of fashion expert. They think it’s “artistic”. What the fuck? Your not Lady Gaga. Stop trying so hard.
    Am I the only one who feels this way?

    • marcella / Dec 1 2011 1:45 am

      You took the same words right out of my mouth! I don’t understand why blogs like fashiontoast is “popular.” She has a recent post of a simple ass sweater, pants, and wedges and I read comments of stupid ass people saying that her style is so creative and original.

      WTF!

  9. / Nov 30 2011 2:13 pm

    >You’re acting childish and making inane, pointless comments that don’t prove any point at all. Way to spend your time.

    yay!!! its the internet 😀 i’m super glad you’re back ♥

  10. kelll=oa / Dec 1 2011 11:11 pm

    Holy shit, Ruby Book, “at least have a good reason”? What reason does Nati need other than it’s HER FUCKING BLOG. Get the hell off of it if you don’t enjoy reading it. Clearly many people do, judging by the comments in which more than a few people have welcomed her back to the site.
    Enjoy reading fashion blogs that you like, no one is begrudging you of that. Believe it or not, some people enjoy a healthy dose of snark, including myself. I read plenty of stupid ass blogs, because they provide a new insight into a life that isn’t mine or something that is far from what I’d do (such as wearing a bear sweater). But I also like hilarious shit like this, and newsflash: I’m not the only one.
    If YOU don’t like it, YOU don’t need to come here. Jesus christ, nothing is worse than assholes like you coming to spread your profound opinion on what you think is morally acceptable. Just fuck off and worry about yourself, godammit.

    • Ruby Book / Dec 2 2011 2:17 am

      Obviously people enjoy it or it wouldn’t exist. I never said not to be snarky, or not to blog, or what is morally acceptable. Nati just happens to say very controversial things that I don’t agree with and I have the right to defend things I like. And this is the internet, so yes, everyone has that right if it’s not harassing anyone.
      I *don’t* come to read here, but I must have accidentally followed her or something, or clicked some weird virus link, because now I get an email for every post and comment on this blog. I have figured out how to stop it and I won’t be coming here anymore, because you’re right: I don’t have to. I bid you all farewell as I have made my point.

  11. Absinthe / Dec 2 2011 5:36 am

    Oh Nati, you’re back! Thank you thank you thank you!!

  12. Sei / Dec 2 2011 7:09 pm

    I don’t understand why some people feel compelled to “defend” peoplea bunch of girls (fashion bloggers) who OBVIOUSLY don’t fucking care about all that.

    Just let Nati Hell do whatever she wanna do because she’s funny and (unlike some of these bloggers) her head isn’t stuck up in her own a*s in fear she’d notice people talk bad about her.

    [Oh yeah and I’m sorry for any typo English is not my 1st language]

  13. Hayley / Dec 2 2011 8:42 pm

    More posts More posts More posts!!

    Sorry… I’m just glad you’re back 🙂
    I love your blog it’s hilarious
    Sometimes I laugh just as hard at the lame hate comments as the actual post
    It’s all good

  14. chameleonic / Dec 3 2011 1:18 am

  15. Anna Pei / Dec 22 2011 11:31 am

    Come back, Nati! I have almost as much fun reading the butthurt comments of people who cannot stand the fact that someone dares to criticise their fav blogger as I do reading your posts.

  16. Maya / Jan 1 2012 5:28 am

    hahaha you are funny! This describes everything I hate about fashion bloggers. In every way. I will say that the ones like the girl from Yours Truly X and Calivintage are not all that bad but many are self absorbed, spoiled, and try to act so cool by talking so much about how much they love record stores and the Royal Tenenbaums.

  17. online kläder / Jan 6 2012 6:01 am

    Hi, i just wanted to drop which you line to imply that i thoroughly enjoyed this post with yours, I have subscribed to the RSS feeds and now have skimmed a few of your blogposts before but this really endured out in my situation. I are aware that I am simply stranger for you but We figured you might appreciate a appreciation: ) – Be sure – and additionally keep blogging.

  18. Quieter Than Silence / Jan 6 2012 3:02 pm
  19. Syn / Jan 7 2012 4:37 pm

    Hope you come back and post more soon Nati, the internet needs you. 🙂

  20. Clove Bud / Jan 9 2012 9:17 am

    **Banished

  21. clove b / Jan 9 2012 4:55 pm

    And in the end, she’s the one who’s making money off of this 🙂

  22. Sei / Jan 10 2012 2:46 pm

    Jane’s attempt to be sexy / funny / whatever in that swimsuit just made my day (I’ve just “read” all the posts I’ve missed on Sea of Shoes)

  23. Clossit (@clossit) / Jan 10 2012 10:11 pm

    We love what you do, matching people with clothes suited for them, that’s what we’re about as well. Check us out if you’re interested and maybe you can give us tips on stores you frequent?
    Discover Clothing

  24. kamccleary / Jan 16 2012 2:28 am

    truth.

  25. poet / Feb 11 2012 10:08 am

    Actually I think that sweater is pretty cool in a “so ugly it’s awesome” way. 🙂 I understand what you don’t like about Miss Sea of Shoes with her somewhat pretentious writing, or other über-popular but not so very creative people, though…

Leave a Reply

