Skip to content
July 31, 2010 / natihell

Because we told them they were important.

I want to take a moment to talk about something that bothered me some time ago and I just remembered about it. I would like to know your opinions aswell.

Lets see, Jane has a blog where she talks about her shoes and clothes and stuff, that’s ok. People really like it and suddenly she has this huuuge fan base, there’s nothing wrong with that either. But then, some people come over to Jane and ask her to design her very own shoe collection. WHYYY? I mean, Who is this girl? What makes her an authority in shoe design? Yes, she may like shoes a lot, that doesn’t mean she’s able to make them. There is nothing in Jane’s blog that proves that she has talent for design, and this materializes in the shoe line itself. Have you seen it?

It’s not bad. Yes, the shoes are nice. Are they original? NO. Have I seen those shes before? YES!! About a  million times! Does the fact that this Jane from Sea of Shoes designed the shoes makes them special? No no and no.

I just can’t help but feel bad for all those people who work and study hard and hope to get an opportunity like this and get their asses kicked, while on the other hand, this little random girl from the Internet gets this amazing offer just because she has a blog where she talks about how much she likes shoes.

Am I the only one who sees how stupid this is? For example, I am absolutely crazy in love with Igor Stravinsky, I have been listening to his music since I was a fetus. I know every single composition by heart. I named my dog ‘Firebird’ because of him. Does this mean that I’m capable of doing music as good as his? FUCK NO!! Should someone give me a record deal or something like that just because I really love Stravinsky? FUCK NO! You understand what I mean.

I don’t see the problem with using a well-known fashion blogger as the face for a product or a clothing line, like the case of  The Glamourai and Twelve By Twelve, or Rumi and Forever 21, and some others that I can’t remember right know.  I think it’s cool, because that way girls can relate to the brand through a person that’s familiar to them, and not just any model. There’s a difference between this and asking some blogger to do something she has no knowledge about.

I had a similar feeling when I saw the thing of Coach working with some bloggers in a collection of handbags. Maybe it didn’t bother me as much because by now, this thing of big designers working along with fashion bloggers has become a big trend, and it’s no longer surprising.

And another thing, Mom of Shoes has been experiencing some kind of cooking revelation, and there’s nothing wrong with that. I like her recipes, they are good. But what happens? Mom posts 5 recipes on her blog and suddenly  some restaurant invites her into their kitchen and give her free cooking lessons, just because. Really, like… really?!

And by the way, what’s the deal with that stupid picture of her cooking in fancy 1950’s wife clothes? It’s ok if some big time photographer wants to take pictures of her, but why cooking? Mom of Shoes isn’t widely known for her amazing culinary talent. Come on! She has been posting about food for about two weeks!! She’s known for being her daughter’s mom, and using huge animal belts, that’s it.

Come on society!! What’s wrong with us? Why do we tell this people that they are famous? It’s just like with those Kardashian people, who the fuck are they? Why are they on my TV? No matter how many times I have seen that moronic show, I still haven’t figured out who they are and what are they famous for.

We tell them they are the shit, and they become the shit. It’s a sad sad world.

21 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Madeleine Louise / Jul 31 2010 11:11 am

    I’m starting to like you more and more.
    and I completely agree about everything you have written about in this post.
    Sometimes these companies make a mockery of people who are working hard for a place in the industry.

    And I have always thought those shoes were not aesthetically pleasing at all.

  2. Catherine / Jul 31 2010 7:26 pm

    I think that a huge amount of people support the “everyday celebrities” because they’re easier to relate to. But I think there’s a lot of irony that accompanies that – he/she may start out as an “average” person, but then after a load of attention, they become pretentiously famous for doing nothing but being famous. Everyone’s after his or her fifteen minutes of fame, I guess.

  3. Rina / Jul 31 2010 7:37 pm

    I agree. It’s also disappointing when some bloggers start to censor their content once they become famous. I’m happy that they got noticed, but their writing style and topics aren’t the same anymore…

  4. WendyB / Jul 31 2010 8:00 pm

    As a professional designer, I can say it is certainly difficult to see people with no design experience getting contracts with big companies. I just keep hoping my time will come and try not to be bitter!

  5. Ma / Aug 1 2010 2:03 am

    I was going to say something about this post but I can’t.
    Just saw Jane’s new necklace. I don’t hate her, but a fucking COCKROACH is way too much.
    Be back later, if don’t die choked on my own vomit.

  6. Belle / Aug 1 2010 3:03 am

    I’d like to know why this family keeps getting so many special favors.
    Seriously. What makes them so special?
    The mother is a divorced twat that lives off the alimony from her husband.
    The daughter doesn’t want to go to college.
    The other daughter we never hear about at all (wonder why she’s not also allowed to play dress up?).

    • kim / Mar 9 2011 12:58 pm

      It’s because the other daughter (Carol) is the sane one.

  7. harps / Aug 1 2010 2:02 pm

    Companies just try to make money out of other peoples fame, it has little to do with intrinsic talent or hard work, just luck and self promotion.

  8. Gleenn / Aug 2 2010 8:58 am

    I agree with your thoughts. Those shoes she designed are copycats of the ones she owned that I saw her wearing and flaunting, only that, her designs are a lot less interesting and not fashionable at all.

    btw, where did you get the pictures of her shoe collection?

  9. M8 / Aug 2 2010 5:51 pm

    As a professional handbag designer (10 years and counting) and former apparel designer, it is appaling to me that these large companies have jumped on the blogger as desinger trend. The coach colaboration is more than disappointing. I have worked hard to get to where I am, and to see these girls/women/self proclaimed and working stylists “design” makes me sick. There are so many talented designers out there that deserve recognition… not these blogging girls that just have money to buy what they like, and then knock it off for profit under the guise of thier own design. I work hard to have what I have, and live how I like. Who made them the end all be all of style? Oh yeah, they did!
    UGH!

  10. Anna / Aug 3 2010 8:11 am

    I hear you on the designer collabos, loud and clear- it’s rather pointless, and a slap in the face to those who spend years actually accumulating the experience and skills (and by “skills” I don’t mean knowing how to point a DSLR at your daughter) to do this. Shoemaking is an actual, technical job- just because Sea owns a ton of shoes it doesn’t make her any more qualified to “design” them than Jessica Simpson (who also has a shoe line that is, shock horror, quite cute though no one is stupid enough to think she actually “designs” any of it). I remember Hussein Chalayan saying, about 2-3 years ago, that Kate Moss launching a collection with Topshop was an insult to him and other serious designers- this is just the trickle-down of that.

    About bloggers as independent designers/accessory makers, though, that I can support, if it’s their own business and the product is good. Lik these guys http://www.nodiscount.com.au/blog/ or WendyB (she has lovely kick-ass jewellery, go Wendy!) or even Garbage Dress, they know their shit, they don’t just own it.

    • WendyB / Aug 4 2010 3:05 am

      Thanks for the love, Anna xoxo

  11. Anners Hortensia VIII / Aug 3 2010 11:03 am

    I wish our society wasn’t so fond of crowning morons with laurel leaves, but alas…

    Living Colour wrote a song about it though…

    “Look into my eyes, what do you see?
    Cult of personality
    I know your anger, I know your dreams
    I’ve been everything you want to be
    I’m the cult of personality
    Like mussolini and kennedy
    I’m the cult of personality
    Cult of personality
    Cult of personality

    Neon lights, a nobel prize
    The mirror speaks, the reflection lies
    You don’t have to follow me
    Only you can set me free
    I sell the things you need to be
    I’m the smiling face on your t.v.
    I’m the cult of personality
    I exploit you still you love me

    I tell you one and one makes three
    I’m the cult of personality
    Like joseph stalin and gandi
    I’m the cult of personality
    Cult of personality
    Cult of personality…”

    (Cutting and pasting is fun.)

  12. Kate / Aug 3 2010 5:46 pm

    I totally agree about Jane’s shoe line, but anyone can be invited to learn how to cook a dish at a restaurant, you just have to ask. It’s no big deal or honour.

  13. lemonade / Aug 4 2010 11:50 pm

    haha i love how much you hate sea of shoes. she pisses me off. What made Urban Outfitters decide Jane was a good candidate for designing shoes? Oh right, her mother buys her a shitload of shoes and she posts pictures of herself wearing them. Anyone could do that, if they’d won the cosmic lottery and been born in Jane’s position..
    I also feel sorry for her sister. you hardly ever see her or hear about her on the blog, it’s always MY MOTHER AND I ARE IN TOKYO BUYING STUFF! MY MOTHER AND I WENT VINTAGE SHOPPING! MY FATHER TOOK ME ON A ROAD TRIP AND BOUGHT ME STUFF! while her sister must just hang around the Aldridge household gathering dust. I hope she becomes a brain surgeon or a human rights activist or something, someone needs to balance out the black hole of mindless spending which is Jane..

  14. tina / Aug 6 2010 1:19 am

    Like Rumi’s lie about a guy “knowing her” as the forever 21 chick? Are you fucking me? HAH get for real. Attention whore much? And Emily’s disgustingly (let’s use Rumi’s “word” here) design for Coach talking about PUKING UP GUTS HERE! she is barfy looking herself. Anyone note what she wore when she first debuted the goddamn bag. Like barf risen from the toilet it was hell.

    Rumi’s quote about her times square campaign

    She blogs:

    I came and I saw. Cannot even describe the specific kind of weird/awesome involved in seeing the Forever 21 campaign all over New York. As in watching the video loop in Times Square or rushing through the subway trying to not be late and pausing for a second to look at the poster or failing to hail a cab with my face on it. My favorite had to have been some guy who started mocking my shirt as I walked by (“Hey you missed the sixties by about 4 decades, honey”) and then quickly did a double take…(“Wait you’re the girl in the Forever 21 video..?! You are, aren’t you!”). So awkward. As for the situation in general…just unbelievable.

  15. Sophie Scariot / Aug 20 2010 12:27 am

    well someones a little jealous of Jane? :L

  16. M / Aug 24 2010 3:24 am

    i can totally guess why judy is on her cooking kick.

    there’s so much (well-founded, in my own opinion) criticism about jane/judy spending too much time together, and jane choosing not to go to college. nothing wrong with either choice in reality, but given they both control what goes on their blog, they are really putting forward of image of them being joint to the hip, they were posting the same content and we never heard about “the other daughter”.. it all became too strange and comical.

    carol is big into cooking/cuisine so im guesing judy is trying to separate herself from jane and trying to make it look like she actually gives a rats about her other kid!

  17. poet / Oct 1 2010 5:32 pm

    Have to agree. Jane is a dress-up doll to her mom who never stopped playing with dolls. A very pretty and well-groomed dress-up doll with very expensive and in themselves sometimes pretty (sometimes appalling) clothes, but combined without taste…

  18. grosiran pakaian anak / Apr 23 2011 6:21 pm

    its funny, its beauty n good picture

Leave a Reply

