Skip to content
July 6, 2010 / natihell

Halcoholic, Why?! (or: Looking like a crackwhore was never so expensive).

I have a lot of mixed feelings while writing this post. I read this girl’s blog, Halcoholic, for the first time about 3 weeks ago and to be honest, I read it all, to the very last (or first) post. I didn’t hate it at all, but I didn’t quite like it either.

I know she dresses like a crackwhore, but come on people! I think this:

is about 500 times more respectable and about 98423750845 million times less stupid than this:

...derp derp derp...

I don’t have a problem with the way she dresses, but I do have a problem with the clothes she wears. If you want to dress like a “stylish crackwhore”, that’s alright, I looks good on you (most of the time), but why?? Why fucking whyyyy do you have to use ridiculously expensive clothes to dress like a crackwhore?

No thanks, no crack for me, I'm pregnant!

If I see a girl walking down the street dressed like this, my heart would melt, and I would give her a dollar.

Topshop maxi, Jil Sander shades, Rodarte t-shirt, Aldo wedges, Jas M.B. bag

Are you kidding me? That skirt is about $50 and that stupid “RADARTE” t-shirt is about $105. This is stupid. $105 in a gray t-shirt with letters, really? And look at this crap:

This dress is "amazingly fucking cool"!! Lol, isn't it ironic that I'm pregnant? Haha!

Let me tell you that dress is ugly and overpriced, and only an idiot hipster would wear something that says “Choose Death”. I really think that that’s what you really are, darling. You are nothing more than a lame hipster, that spends a lot of money to look like you have nothing.

You wear stupid rapist glasses that you don’t need, and make stupid gestures with your hands that you don’t understand:

I'm not really sure what this means, but I'm gonna do it coz all the cool kids do it!

And this is just cracks me up:

poetic derp derp derp

Can you tell I’m really stoked on this shirt? Well, I am. (…) I loved all the versions of this shirt; it’s such a cheeky, stupid concept that Sandberg&Timonen managed to make really badass. Plus, 100% of the proceeds went towards relief in Haiti.

Oh my, thank God that the proceeds go towards relief in Haiti!! You are such a wonderful human being! Thank God we have people like you in the world. I mean, who donates money for Haiti when you can buy this stupid concept t-shirt! It doesn’t matter that you’re wearing a $275 claw necklace, or $1300 Rick Owens boots. Those 50 euros you spent on that shirt are going towards relief in Haiti! You’re so going to heaven.

Dear Halcoholic: You have a baby on the way. A baby. Why do you have $1300 shoes when you have to buy diapers and a crib and stuff? And why do you dress like the most expensive crackwhore in the world? You could buy garments just like the ones you use for just $5, and use that shitload of money to go on vacations with your family or something…

Love,

Nati Hell.

PD: On the bright side, she’s not Jane, and that’s enough to make her a decent human being. And her hair is pretty. And she’s pregnant, and that makes my heart melt (I like babies). Oh, and by the way, all of this pictures are property of Halcoholic.

10 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Anna Pei / Jul 6 2010 10:42 am

    She seems sweet, though I didn’t know what to think when her husband gave an interview a few months ago saying they were broke and she had to go on Medicare for her pregnancy. At the time, she was showing off shoes and clothes bought (at retail, mind you) for major amounts of money- it’s hard to reconcile Medicare and simultaneous expensive shoes.

    Still, good luck to her and her kid. Maybe motherhood will make her grow up a little?

  2. Sister Wolf / Jul 7 2010 4:32 am

    Medicare?!?!?!?!?!?

  3. The Raisin Girl / Jul 14 2010 5:39 am

    Motherhood doesn’t make people grow up. Just like marriage doesn’t make people trust each other and grow closer. You’re supposed to take care of maturity BEFORE maternity, or else that poor kid is fucked.

    Anyway, I have to agree with your assessment: it makes no sense to buy things that look like you thrifted them from the bargain bin at Goodwill and spend hundreds of dollars. What’s the point? I don’t know what bothers me more, the fact that it’s a waste of money, or the fact that it’s fundamentally dishonest. I actually have a personal moratorium on buying stuff made to look “thrifted” or “reconned.” The way I see it, Kurt Cobain didn’t buy his baggy, flea-bitten flannel shirts from ridiculously expensive, high-end designers (at least not until Courtney got hold of him, who knows after that?), and do I really think I’m cooler than Kurt Cobain?

  4. Andy / Aug 3 2010 6:22 pm

    Why all the bitterness towards people who can AFFORD to buy Rick Owens? I agree about her looking cheap but perhaps she has enough money for diapers, milk and Rick Owens boots, did you ever think of that?

  5. alHurra / Jan 10 2011 11:24 pm

    She’s nice (even if she wears awful things), but… look at her husband/boyfriend/fiancé! He’s at least 50 years old and looks even worse than Bukowski at the end of his alcoholic life! OMG!

  6. Crystal / Jan 28 2011 12:40 pm

    Come on..Live and Let Live
    anyway her style isnt like any crackwhores i ever saw in my city
    in one of her posts she said she is influenced by Steven Tyler
    and comments about her husbands looks are just plain rude

  7. Viv / Feb 6 2011 12:23 pm

    So you’re not annoyed by people who spend copious amounts on clothes, just those who spend copious amounts on clothes you don’t like? Hmmm, seems like there would be a long list for all of us if we took that stance. Also seems that bringing only certain styles and taste into the equation of rolling in wealth is linked to some form of jealouy and coveting of wealth.

  8. dahlia / Jun 7 2011 1:32 am

    Hahahaha…..jealous much?

  9. marbles / Aug 6 2011 9:39 pm

    I assumed that her blog was popular so some designers sent her free shoes or let her borrow them? Maybe that’s naive

Leave a Reply

